10 years of Windows XP

Hello all,

I hope you’ve all had a wonderful Christmas!

I received a new game, which just happened to not work with Windows 8. So I used Windows XP instead – which means installing all of the updates – bundled into service packs.

I soon realised that Microsoft has dropped support for much of Windows XP, meaning that I can’t grab the service packs and update the machine.

It was this that made me – like other people – furious, and I was about to actually write a letter of complaint to Microsoft (LIE), when it dawned on me…

Many of us have used Windows XP at some point. My old school had computers running Windows XP, and much of my new school’s library computers still run it. Everything else in the school is up-to-date-ish with the teachers using Windows Vista – the world’s worst OS in the history of mankind, and some machines run Windows 7. We don’t have any machines running Win8 yet.

So, we’ve pretty much all used Windows XP, and guess what? That shouldn’t surprise anyone, for the same reason that Windows XP support has been dropped: It’s now ten years old! (Happy Late Tenth Birthday XP!)

In my eyes, it is one of the best operating systems ever. In fact, I think it is the best. But there were always problems with XP, that aren’t now haunting us in Win7 and Win8. Most single user computers used the Administrator account as their standard account, which gave system-wide access to anything being run on the computer. Including any viruses, malware, spyware, worms, trojans, etc. installed on the computer. That is why – whilst still using XP as the standard OS for any Windows work I do – I only ever log into the Admin account to install software and update the machine, etc. Everything else is done on a ‘Limited’ Account.

Of course, you all know about the pesky Windows Updates that would give us a quarter of an hour to save up and let it shut down, and unless logged in as an Admin, you would be unable to postpone it. This gave me many problems, as I have the fancy logon screen, you know? The one where you have to enter a username and password, instead of just a click-me and enter password screen. Securer.

So, now that Microsoft is giving the techies like me a gentle nudge to move on from XP, by hiding the Service Packs from us when we want to install Windows, I am being politely held at gunpoint to move on. I do say politely.

Therefore, that means that the time has come to say goodbye to the OS that set itself in stone, because the stone is weathering away, and we need to go with the flow.

But since Windows 7 is rubbish, and Windows 8 is a pile of you-know-what, it’s time to switch to where I should be, after all, I am a mac user.

But Macs suck, most of the time.

It’s time… Hello Linux.

Leave a Reply

